Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

Kent Johnson Named CJHL Top Forward


Kent Johnson Named CJHL Top Forward

Trail, British Columbia (April 24th, 2020) – The Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL) announced today that Smoke Eater forward Kent Johnson, who was named BCHL MVP, Top Scorer and Most Sportsmanlike, has received the Top Forward award from the CJHL.

In his second season with the Smoke Eaters, Johnson was a force to be reckoned with scoring 101 points, more than double his total from his rookie year and 30 more than the next closest player. Johnson, just 17-years-old from Port Moody, B.C. and committed to the University of Michigan, will now add one more award to his cabinet after a remarkable season in Trail.

Johnson beat out fellow Top Forward finalists Carter Savoie, Sherwood Park Crusaders (AJHL); Brodie MacArthur, Summerside Western Capitals (MHL); Caleb Serre, Blind River Beavers (NOJHL) and Harrison Israels, Oakville Blades (OJHL) following a national voting process completed by each of the 10 leagues across the country, that comprise the CJHL.

“Kent Johnson’s year was simply outstanding. He was able to score consistently throughout the entire season, while being heavily scouted against each game. His 101pts are the most noticeable statistic as he was head and shoulders above any player in the league but he also played a major role defensively protecting leads late in games. As an Assistant Captain, Kent showed great leadership skills with his ability to prepare and execute every game night. I am extremely proud of all Kent’s accomplishments but to be named CJHL Top Forward it speaks great volume to the type of season he was able to have.” – GM Jeff Tambellini

When Johnson was in the Smoke Eaters lineup this season, they had a record of 34-13-2-2 while going 2-4 when he missed a half-dozen outings while skating for Team Canada West at the World Junior A Challenge in Dawson Creek, B.C.

Recent Top Forward winners from the BCHL include Alex Newhook (Victoria 18/19), Tyson Jost (Penticton 15/16) and Corey Mackin (Coquitlam 14/15).

Kent Johnson is still up for one more award this season as the CJHL MVP award is expected to be announced later next week. Johnson was named a finalist earlier this week.